Introducing The Women of Classic Literature Read-Along

Late last year I came to the realization that of all the pieces of classic literature that I have read, less than half were written by women. When it came time for my New Years goal, this was a no-brainer. I am going to read more women in Classic Literature. And because reading is always more fun when done with friends.

Here is how it is going to work. We’re going to start off slow. I know we all have massive TBR piles so we are going to start slowly and pick one book a quarter. I’ll be posting discussion questions primarily on our Instagram, using the #classicwomenreadalong but we’ll also be making posts here as well.

Our first read of the year is The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros.

20190105_104507-012608428062242266190.jpeg

The reason why I picked this is that whenever the topic of Magical Realism Sandra’s name comes up. Everyone I know who has read her work says two things: They love her AND that I have to read The House on Mango Street.

So join me in reading our first Classic Woman of 2019!

Leave a comment