AudioBook Review: Where the Crawdads Sing

In this heartbreaking coming of age story we follow the Marsh Girl. A child as wild as the Marshes she was raised in.

Evocative and heartbreaking the story of Kyra is a story of survival. Survival against the elements and against the fierce loneliness that so many of us fear. Though I know this is a book for adults I wish I had this in high school or even junior high for that matter. I learned far more about the human condition than I ever did from all the times that I was forced to read Hatchet.

I will never relate to what it is like to have to fend for myself in the wilderness with nothing but a hatchet but I can relate to being a lonely misunderstood little girl who has to figure out how to survive in a great big world.

Catching the voice of a child can be tricky for authors who are appealing to an adult audience. The character can’t sound too mature and those that are incredibly immature are downright annoying. But Owens does an excellent job of finding the right balance.

As always, Cassandra Campbell is an amazing narrator helping to create an engrossing world that makes you want to stop what you are doing just to listen.

Leave a comment