My writing Journal

And Now Back to Your Regularly Scheduled Program…

So as many of you know, I participated in Nanowrimo. The yearly tradition of writing a novel during the month of November. For the second year in a row I’ve won.

Image result for celebrate gif

So what did I write about? Well, it’s the story about an Italian family in Monterey who get caught up in the internment camp drama that occured during WW2. Everyone knows about it happening to the Japanese (roughly 120,000 Japanese people were placed in internment camps) but people don’t know that it happened to the Italians as well. Roughly 3,000 were placed in the camps while thousands more had their lives ruined because of ridiculous restrictions.

I had this plan to do weekly updates with my progress. I was going to do more than just the one pep talk. I was even going to do a few book reviews but….

Image result for writing gifs

Even though this was a rewrite of what I did last year it was still a big challenge. After taking a year to research my premise I gutted my original central conflict and added in at least two more plot lines. There were many nights where I would come home and it was just enough to keep up with my quota.

As the husband put it, writers get excited about November 1st while their non writing spouses get excited about December 1st when it’s National Catch up on Laundry day…

Nanowrimo is over and now I am ready to get back to my normal writing routine. I have those reviews that I was planning on writing last month, a few awesome bios and a few fabulous interviews. So stick around, I have a lot of awesome stuff planned!

 

Leave a Reply

