Sunday Post

Sunday Post #9

Sunday PostThe last few weeks have been mostly about celebrating having lasted another year on this crazy planet.  In the day job I regularly see people who are getting ready to die. I have learned that life is precious and that every birthday should be celebrated. So I celebrated mine. Some would say I celebrated too much…but at least I celebrated!

Previously on Creating Herstory:

My regularly scheduled programming was abruptly changed when I remembered it was banned book week. Every year I try to feature something that has to do with book banning. This year I celebrated the women who defied the rules and got their books banned or challenged in my Women of Banned Books post.

I was able to post a few book reviews. First off was Dido’s Crown, think Casablanca meets Indiana Jones. Now that it’s October Creating Herstory is getting into the Halloween spirit. Last week I reviewed the Secret Language of Stones.

New Books:

img_0339Ah the new book drought has ended! Pictured here are The Silent Land and No Pity for the Dead. The reviews for these two are a long way off. No Pity for the Dead will be my first review for the Historical Novel Society.

Not pictured here are two other new books (in ebook format) The Girl in Cabin 10, which is the book of the month for Wine, Women, Words. Check out our next episode this Thursday. We’ll be talking about this book as well other fun seasonal topics.

I also picked up The Daughters of Red Hall. I couldn’t help myself. It looked so creepy. Sometimes a girl just has to treat herself, right?

Currently Reading:the-heretics-daughter

Yesterday I tore my study apart in an attempt to get it ready to paint next weekend. As I packed up my to be read list I took an assessment of what I had yet to read. I decided to pick up a book that has been sitting on my shelf for years. Perhaps one day I will have actually read all of the books in my to be read pile. Perhaps I will also win the lotto or get to go for a ride on the Tardis.

 

Coming Up this Week:

I am in full Halloween mode. This week on the blog I’ll be taking a look at the Salem Witch Trials as well as reviewing the Heretic’s Daughter at the end of the week. I will also be adding another entry into my writing journal. So come back by, there are lots more fun things happening!

Quote of the Week:

This week’s quote comes from the Mistress of the Dark

elvira-quote

Unpleasent dreams…

The Sunday Post is brought to you by the Caffeinated Book Reviewer

 

4 thoughts on “Sunday Post #9

  1. I love this time of year too. And I thought The Woman in cabin 10 was quite good- hope you enjoy it!

    Casablanca meets Indiana Jones? THAT sounds interesting. I’ll have to check it out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

