Book Reviews

Book Review: Madame Presidentess

04_Madame Presidentess_Blog Tour Banner_FINAL

One of the things that I love about historical fiction is that it can uncover compelling almost forgotten stories. Stories so unique that you can’t believe they are real. This is one of those stories. Victoria Woodhull was an integral part of early feminism but most people don’t even know she existed.02_Madame Presidentess_Web

Nicole Evelina has created a compelling character that is so complex that I feel like I am
sinking my teeth into a juicy steak. Victoria Woodhull was a woman before her time. Pulling herself out of poverty and relationships she challenged convention, rising to great heights. First she and her sister became the first female stock brokers before becoming
the first woman to run for president. Within Victoria’s complexity we see her desire to help women and her frustration. Reading this I feel frustrated with the system. If I, the reader felt frustrated, lord only knows how frustrated Woodhull and her fellow suffragettes must have been.

This is a necessary read for anyone who has an interest in modern feminism.

 

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Madame Presidentess

  1. Thank you so much for hosting me and for the great review. I’m glad you liked the book. I can tell from your comments that you really understood what I was going for with the book and I really appreciate that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

