Book Reviews

When you Find a Series to Obsess Over

Recently I decided to do one of those book bingo challenges for 2016, to keep me reading. I have found that if I go too long without reading my writing suffers. It’s only logical when you think about it. You really are what you eat write.

Anyway, while looking into my book bingo challenge I discovered the Charley Davidson series.

Charley

I was like “hmm, this could be fun, and I could use some romantic literary inspiration.” One week and five books, I repeat FIVE books later I am in love and wondering where have these books been my whole life?

What I love is that these are just fun books. The Heroine, Charlotte Davidson is sarcastic, funny and just as clumsy as me. (I always love a character that I can relate to) In addition to being all of the above, Charley is a private investigator with a secret. She’s the grim reaper.

Throw in a dreamy romantic lead, a cast of well created supporting characters and a twisty turny mystery to keep you reading well in to the night with no regard for your morning responsibilities and you have a formula for a fantastic book.

2nd grave

There are very few series that I like. There are so many series out there that don’t really need to be series. I love a good stand alone book. (all of my planned books to write are technically stand alones) With that being said believe me when I say that this one is definitely worth your time and effort if you are looking for something fun to read. While each book has a new mystery for Charley to solve the previous book will leave you hungry for more. Darynda Jones has a knack for leaving each book with just enough of a cliff hanger to make you want to find out what happens next. Because frankly, the overall story arch is just as intriguing as each book’s mystery.

Third grave

My only problem with the series, is that the characters love their coffee and even though I have given up coffee these books are reigniting the cravings that I thought I had gotten over.

So if you will excuse me, I have to finish reading Fifth Grave Past the Light and pretend that I don’t have to get up for work tomorrow…

5th book

 

Leave a Reply

