Uncategorized

Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

Top Ten Tuesday1

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday is the Top Ten Books I have read so far this year. I have been a bit behind in my reading, given that a good chunk has been reading and re-reading my research books. So with out further ado, here is my top ten:

1.  The Last Unicorn. This movie was my absolute favorite as a child. In January I got to go to a screening and a Q & A with the Author Peter S. Beagle. Afterwards I decided it was about time that I sat down and actually read the book that inspired so much of my childhood imagination. I soon discovered that the man that inspired me as a child was now inspiring me as an adult. His writing is so beautifully descriptive with an amazing story to tell.

2.  Station Eleven. This book is fantastic! The influence of Shakespeare, post apocalyptic america and the beautiful way that the stories are intertwined just leaves the reader in awe.

3. Olive Grrrls. You can see my interview with the author here. While reading this I had an incredible sense of “Ah, I’m not the only one.”

4.  The Fiery Cross. It’s always good to check in with my favorite fictional couple, Jamie and Claire.

5.  The secret Daughter of the Tsar. Check out my review here. I loved this book, it just sucked me right in.

6.  Water for Elephants. I am guilty of blowing this book off (more on that next week) but I finally got over myself, picked up the book and wondered why I haven’t read this sooner. Because it’s fantastic story that made me swoon.

7.  Garibaldi and Rio Grade Do Sul’s War for Independence from Brazil: The Memoirs of Luigi Rossetti, John Griggs and Anita Garibaldi. There is nothing like being able to read the thoughts and get the other side of the story of the person for whom you are writing about. I have read this book at least twice to get a sense of my main character in tone and opinion. It’s also been a fantastic read to get my other character’s traits.

8.  Anita Garibaldi: A biography. I have my issues with this book but it’s the book that made me want to write this book. dream of doing nothing else but write this book.

9.  Garibaldi: An Autobiography Reading the events before my story picks up and during has been so helpful in my creation of Giuseppe Garibaldi as a character. The autobiography itself doesn’t have a whole lot on Anita. That’s because in this book Garibaldi wrote a whole side piece on “the queen of his soul” a.k.a. Anita, who he still cried for, years after her death.

10.  All the Light We Cannot See. This is by far one of the most beautiful books I have read in a long time. I will be reviewing it hopefully this weekend.

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to you by the Broke and the Bookish. Check out their blog for more details.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2015

    1. I finished all the light we cannot see last night at like midnight. If you haven’t read station eleven yet i really do recommend picking it up. Even though it is dystopian it had an incredible human element to it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

